France Live Scores

No games scheduled

France Upcoming Games

France Results

France National Teams

France League Directory

Live Scores from the Ligue 1 and National Competitions

Get real-time updates, scores, and match analyses from the Ligue 1 , Ligue 2, Championnat National, and other French football tournaments.

Organisation of Football in France

The organisation of football in France is based on a hierarchical league system, allowing clubs to ascend or descend based on their performances. This structure is divided into several levels, ranging from professional football to amateur football.

At the top of the hierarchy is the Ligue 1, which is the highest level of French football. It comprises 20 professional clubs vying for the title of French champion. The bottom two clubs in the standings at the end of the season are relegated to the Ligue 2, which also includes 20 clubs. The top two from Ligue 2 are promoted to Ligue 1, while the bottom three are relegated to the Championnat National.

The Championnat National, the third tier of French football, hosts 18 clubs, primarily semi-professional. The top two teams are promoted to Ligue 2, and the bottom four are relegated to the National 2. This level is subdivided into four groups of 16 clubs each, operating on the same principle of promotion and relegation with the Championnat National and the National 3.

The National 3, the fifth tier of French football, is organised into 12 regional groups. It includes amateur clubs as well as reserve teams of professional clubs. Beyond National 3, the system continues with regional and departmental divisions, highlighting the depth and richness of French football at all levels of competition.

Tiers 6 to 8 are made up of the Régional 1, Régional 2 and Régional 3, which are organised by the regional leagues. Tiers 9 to 11 are made up of the Départemental 1, Départemental 2 and Départemental 3, which are organised by the departmental districts. Finally, tiers 12 to 15 are made up of the Départemental 4, Départemental 5, Départemental 6 and Départemental 7, which are also organised by the departmental districts.